IN HER WORDS NYT 2020-2021

You need to register and log in to access this functionality

Description

The Women’s Forum for the Economy & Society, The International Rescue Committee & The New York Times invite you to a special conversation Look Back, Plan Ahead: Beijing+ 25 and its impact on women and girls On the 25th anniversary of the Beijing Platform for Action, which seeks to advance women’s rights, we examine the progress for gender equality to date and ask: is advancement being made at an equal rate for all? In 2019, close to 80 million people around the world, including 26 million refugees, were forcibly displaced due to conflict or persecution. In a Covid era, female refugees face a double burden. Not only do economic recovery plans fail to adequately account for the pandemic’s impacts on women and girls, they often leave out refugees. Yet the participation, agency and leadership of women refugees can be a force for recovery and resilience. What can governments, business and other sectors do to systematically boost the inclusion and empowerment of refugees, particularly girls and women? Speakers: Hillary Rodham Clinton, former U.S. Secretary of State David Miliband, President & CEO, International Rescue Committee Lilian Dawa, International Rescue Committee volunteer, Uganda Moderator: Francesca Donner, Gender Director, The New York Times This session will take place at 12:30 Eastern Time, 5:30 UK, 6:30 Central European Summer Time.

24th September, 12:30 EST / 6:30PM CEST: Hillary Rodham Clinton, David Miliband & Lilian Dawa, moderated by Francesca Donner

September 24 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm CEST

Speakers